Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021: BJP sweeps civic polls, big setback for Congress


With the BJP set to retain power in six Gujarat municipal corporations, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday termed the victory “very special” and said for a party that has been serving in a state for over two decades to record such a phenomenal win is noteworthy.

The BJP on Tuesday appeared on course to retain power in six municipal corporations, winning 472 of the 576 seats where results were declared till evening.

The counting of votes is still underway in some local bodies and final results are awaited though the BJP has clearly won by a huge margin.

PM Modi said the results of municipal elections clearly show the unwavering faith people have in politics of development and good governance.

“Thank you Gujarat! Results of municipal elections across the state clearly show the unwavering faith people have towards politics of development and good governance,” Modi said in a series of tweets.

“Grateful to the people of the state for trusting BJP yet again. Always an honour to serve Gujarat,” he said.

A total of 192 seats in Ahmedabad, 72 in Rajkot, 64 in Jamnagar, 52 in Bhavnagar, 76 in Vadodara and 120 in Surat were up for grabs in the elections. The AAP had fielded 470 candidates across the six corporations.

The BJP is set to lead local bodies in Vadodara, Rajkot, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar and Surat.

In Vadodara, the BJP has captured 66 seats out of the total 76 of the VMC, the rest going to the opposition Congress.

In Rajkot, the BJP has captured 68 seats out of the total 72 seats, with four going to Congress.

In Surat, the BJP has won 93 seats, while the Aam Aadmi Party bagged 27 seats. The Congress drew a blank.

In Jamnagar, the BJP has captured 50 seats out of the total 64 of the JMC, while the opposition Congress won 11 seats and the Bahujan Samaj Party took three seats, opening their account in Gujarat.

In Bhavnagar, the BJP has captured 44 seats out of the total 52 of the BMC, the rest going to the opposition Congress.

In Ahmedabad, counting is still underway with BJP leading in 148 seats out of 192.

Following the poor performance of the Congress, a series of city party chiefs resigned on Tuesday. Ashok Dangar, Rajkot Congress president tendered his resignation. Similarly, Babu Rayka, Surat Congress president and Prakash Vaghani, Bhavnagar Congress president, also submitted their resignations.

Delhi Chief Minister and national convener of the Aam Aadmi Party, Arvind Kejriwal, on Tuesday was delighted by his party’s performance in the local body polls and said that it was the time for a new brand of politics in Gujarat. Kejriwal is expected to visit Gujarat and hold a roadshow in Surat on February 26.


Source link

Leave a Reply